Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding

Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding

Yeah.  Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding.  It’s a mouthful.

A MOUTHFUL OF DELICOUS.

Ahem.

In my house, we eat healthy stuff.  If I lived by myself, I would probably subsist entirely on tuna fish with crackers and Pizza Hut.  Since I live with a husband who is very into fitness, I instead eat much more healthily.  I have grown to appreciate his influence on my eating habits, because I always feel better when I eat good foods and lay off the junk.  Although sometimes…just sometimes…I want to shove cheeseburgers in his face while he sleeps.

Ahem, again.

We eat a fairly low fat, lean protein, low carb diet.  I cook every meal and we eat out maybe once a week, if that.  I try to buy as few things as possible prepackaged and avoid preservatives.

Enter the BABY.

I make nearly all of Baby Girl’s food, except for some of her finger foods such as Cheerios, fruit puffs, and those delicious yogurty melts that are preparing her to eat in space.  Otherwise she eats mostly whole foods.  She loves her fruits and veggies but has yet to really enjoy meats, something I hear is not uncommon in kiddos.  So, now that we have taken her off of formula and she is learning to like milk – I have been looking for ways to supplement her protein intake.

I looked at a lot of different tofu pudding recipes; some had chocolate chips or a lot of added sweetener, others had a lot of spices or complicated ingredients.  So, I just decided to make my own.

This pudding is simple, created with ingredients that I always have on hand – except for tofu, although it may now become a staple grocery item.  Because you know what?  It tastes damn good.

 Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding


INGREDIENTS:

3 T.B. Cocoa Powder
12.3 oz package Firm Tofu
1/3 Cup Peanut Butter (I used Skippy Natural Creamy)
1 TB Honey*
1/2 Cup Milk of Choice


Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding

First things first.  Deal with the tofu – it must be pressed!  Open the package and drain out the excess liquid. Lay a few paper towels on a plate or tray.  Slice your tofu lengthwise and spread it in a single layer across the towels.  Place a few more paper towels on top, followed by a dish towel – and then ‘Something Heavy.’  My ‘Something Heavy’ of choice is my blender base.  It gets the job done.  Let your tofu sit and smoosh for about thirty minutes.  Then, you’re ready to go!

Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding

Toss first four ingredients into blender, along with 1/4 cup of your milk.

Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding

Puree, adding remainder of milk slowly until desired consistency is reached.  You will want it to look milk chocolatey and smooth.  Chill for 20 minutes and enjoy.

Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding

The pudding is not overly sweet.  If you like dark chocolate, you’ll probably like this pudding.  If you would like added sweetness, you can always put in more honey or peanut butter to taste.  I made this particular combination for my thirteen month old with the intent of enriching her diet rather than spoiling her.  She loves it – and so do we.

Peanut Butter Cocoa Tofu Pudding

*If your child is aged under one year, please do not feed him or her honey.

3 comments

  1. girluprooted · November 22, 2014

    this sounds yummy and easy to make. im curious why cant kids under a year have honey?

    • Erin · December 14, 2014

      Totally forgot to reply to this! Lame! Honey can carry a bacteria that may cause botulism in infants. Their immature immune systems are more prone to the illness – so doctors recommend waiting until children are older to give it to them.

  2. girluprooted · December 17, 2014

    Thanks for the info. I had no idea!

Leave a Reply

