Buffalo Turkey Meatballs

Buffalo Turkey Meatballs with Blue Cheese Yogurt Dip

Once upon a time, far far away, in a land called ‘Our Mid-Twenties’ – there were no diapers or house payments.  It was a magical land, where hangovers had yet to claim entire days in payment for nights of binge drinking and money spent on liquor was money well spent.  It was a good time.  And we spent much of this time at a place called The Peanut.

If you live in the Kansas City area, more than likely you’ve been to The Peanut.  It is the city’s oldest bar and grill, with several locations and the best…and I mean THE BEST chicken wings you will ever eat.  Don’t try to tell me that someplace that soaks itty bitty baby chickie drummies in soupy sauce is the best…because Peanut wings will EAT those chicken wings.  For real.  They are mean, they are big, and they practically have teeth.

They even ship these things now.  That’s how good they are. People need them.

However, we are now old.  Ok, ok – older.  Our waistlines do not recover as they once did and washing down a dozen chicken wings with a few slugs of whiskey just simply isn’t our normal anymore.  So these days when I’m trying to beat a Peanut craving, this is what I make.  Is it the same thing?  Oh, no. But you know what?  It absolutely gets me through my desperation for delicious wings until we can plan a night out.



INGREDIENTS

TURKEY MEATBALLS
1 lb. ground turkey
1 egg
1/3 cup panko bread crumbs
1/2 tsp dill
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 cup green onion (reserve some for garnish)
3 cloves minced garlic
3 Tb crumbled blue cheese
Frank’s Red Hot Wings Buffalo Sauce
salt and pepper

BLUE CHEESE YOGURT DIP
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
1/2 tsp dill
2 cloves minced garlic
salt and pepper

Buffalo Turkey Meatballs

Preheat oven to 500°F.  Combine all meatball ingredients except for the hot sauce.  We save that for the final smothering step…  I find it easiest just to dig in with my hands.  Tip: wet down your hands with warm water first to keep the mixture from sticking to your fingers.  It’s not foolproof but it helps.  You can use a spoon if you prefer, but be careful not to over mix.  We want our meatballs fluffy.  Yes, I said fluffy.

Buffalo Turkey Meatballs

Shape into meatballs.  I like to use a large ice cream scoop, but you can form them into any size that you like.  I’ve made them small, I’ve made them tall, I’ve made them fat, I’ve made them…well, you get the idea.

Buffalo Turkey Meatballs

Bake until cooked through and slightly browned, about 15 minutes depending on the size of your meatballs.  Then, cover with Frank’s Red Hot Wings Buffalo Sauce.  Use less if you like less, more if you like more.  We like MORE in this house.  Cook an additional three to five minutes, until the sauce is bubbly.

mb4

In the meantime, mix together your blue cheese dip ingredients.  This is where the money’s at and I use far more than my fair share.  This is enough for my husband and I, but you may learn you need to make more or less.  If you have leftovers, feel free to put it on EVERYTHING.  Oh yeah.

Buffalo Turkey Meatballs

I like to serve my meatballs on top of a spinach salad or baked potato fries.  A dollop of the Blue Cheese Dip on top, followed with a sprinkle of green onion and YUM!  A craving buster without being a belly buster.

Seriously though guys, who wants to go the ‘Nut?

Leave a Reply

