Time

So Much to Do! So Little Time!

Oh! Hello, Blog. I didn’t see you there. You sort of snuck up on me. Sorry that I haven’t been around lately. The holidays, visiting family, sick baby…you know how it is. Time just seems to fly by. At least it does until it doesn’t… I have no idea where the last several months have gone, while at the same time it seems like the days stretch on forever. I suppose that’s the curse of being a stay at home mom. It can be, unfortunately, a monotonous thing.

I love spending my days with my little girl – I really do. She has proven to me that it is possible to have more than one soul mate. BUT – and I know that parents everywhere will screech at these words – I just wish she was older, already.

I know, I know. Enjoy her while she’s little. And I do! I love her little kisses and her little fingers and her little smiles… She’s probably the brightest, sweetest, most adorable child in the entire world – no bias, duh – and I cherish every one of her ‘beeps’ and ‘doops’ as she tries out her voice.

It’s just that we have so much to do!!

And the winter world of Kansas affords few opportunities. It simply isn’t worth it to take a toddler out in below freezing temps. So we stay inside where it is warm and play with stuffed animals, watch Doc McStuffins, color in coloring books, and eat cheerios.

But I can dream of doing more.

And I dream of my darling girl shining as I take her to the ballet in new sparkling black shoes. I imagine her getting imperious looks from docents as she scoots through the Nelson, on the search for what will be her favorite work of art for the day. I think about whether or not she will be a fantastic gymnast, or maybe a ballerina, or a soccer star…or if she will follow in her mother’s footsteps and not be that great at any of it. I wonder what she will be interested in, nearly giddy with the anticipation of encouraging her to love everything. I want to have conversations with her and be astounded by what she has to say, no matter how small it might seem.

I feel like we’ve talked about my handle on patience before. All of that still applies. I have none of it.

For now, I will focus on being content to snuggle her when she is sick…because she is too busy for cuddles when she is not… I will treasure the kisses she has learned to generously give. And I will do my best to sneak away and work on blog posts while she is napping. Because, Blog, that seems to be the only way you and I will ever have any time together.

She and I simply have too much to do.

2 comments

  1. girluprooted · January 12, 2015

    I’ve always thought one of the best things about being a parent would be getting to share the things you love with your kid. I love tiny babies but I can totally understand wanting to share more things with her. I’m sure she will be that big before you know it.

    • Erin · January 14, 2015

      I know she will, too. But i can’t wait to take her places! Like the Nutcracker, and movies, and read the Hobbit together… Guh. I have a huge list and all of it needs her to be at least five probably. I need to find some special things for us to do while she is little!

Leave a Reply

