Recipes

Ten Tried and True T-Recipes: Just Say No to Alliteration.

I love cookbooks.  Reading them, looking at them, stacking them…you get the picture.  I’m a bibliophile to start with and when you combine books with FOOD – well, let’s just say they are one of my favorite things.  I used to be a steadfast subscriber to Everyday Foods magazine (yes, magazines count…) and so I also have a rather large stack of Martha Stewart inspired recipes to flip through at a whim.  I was absolutely heartbroken when I was told that they were discontinuing the publication and moving to digital.

No, I don’t own an e-reader.  Digital books are blasphemous.  Please disregard the fact that I’m communicating with you digitally right now.  Shhhhh…

Anyways, gone are the Sunday afternoons where I sit on the couch surrounded by piles of magazines while I make my weekly menu and grocery list.  Now, I flip through Pinterest.  I do admit that I miss the tactile connection of planning our week, so I do occasionally get out my old magazines and all of my cookbooks and make a mess.  But for the most part, Pinterest is a pretty handy way to organize my recipes.

In an effort to not only remind myself of some of my favorites, but to share as well, I’m posting ten tried and tested recipes that I have located through Pinterest.


Easy Oven Fajitas

Easy Oven Fajitas

So easy it is crazy. Serve with rice, tortillas, you pick your poison. TIP: I throw in a can of rinsed black beans as well.

Stir-Fried Turkey in Lettuce Wraps

Stir-Fried Turkey in Lettuce Wraps

This is a Martha recipe. So you know it’s good. The secret here really is the fish sauce. I don’t really understand how something that smells so terrible can taste SO good. I serve this with a bowl of quinoa, a little bit of Hoisin and Sriracha. We never have leftovers. Ever.

Chicken with Peanut Sauce and Sweet Potatoes

Chicken with Peanut Sauce and Sweet Potatoes

I love one pot wonders. Although, this isn’t really a pot. More of a pan, I suppose. Just chop everything up, stir in your sauce and cook. Then, devour. Could be served with rice.

Italian Chicken

Italian Chicken

This is definitely a part of our regular rotation and every time that I make it, B comments on how good it is – which I love, because it is SO simple. More fun to make in the summer because I can use our own tomatoes and basil – and then serve it over zucchini noodles. Even better over pasta, but you can argue with my husband about that one…

Balsamic Glazed Steak Rolls

Balsamic Glazed Steak Rolls

Good for you.  Yummy.  Steak.  Need I say more?

Teriyaki Salmon with Sriracha Cream Sauce

Teriyaki Salmon with Sriracha Cream Sauce

This is one of my husband’s favorite meals and my go-to for special occasions. TIP: I leave out the sweetened condensed milk in the Sriracha Cream Sauce and instead add a little sprinkle of brown sugar to save on calories and an entire can of sweetened condensed milk. Still tastes great and reminds me of the delicious sauces they use at Japanese restaurants.

Slow Cooker Potato Soup

Slow Cooker Potato Soup

I’m a sucker for anything cooked in a crock pot, especially with BG running around like crazy. This recipe isn’t a part of our usual rotation as it isn’t the healthiest of soups – but it is great for family gatherings or snowy winter days when you just need a cozy treat.

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken

This stuff is for real. Like for real, for real. So good I can’t even. Tastes better than a lot of Chinese food I’ve bought these days. Very easy to make, doesn’t take a lot of ingredients, and SO yummy.

Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries & Pecans

Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries & Pecans

Do you like Brussels Sprouts? Then go. Make this. Make it now. One of the best recipe finds ever.TIP: I substituted Blue Cheese for Gorgonzola (because honestly…who has Gorgonzola?) and it was delicious.

Skinny Funfetti Dip

Skinny Funfetti Dip

Skinny is a relative term.  “Skinnier than some” is perhaps a good phrase to use.  Either way, it is delicious and so easy to make.  I made this dip A LOT when I was pregnant.  It is delicious.  Best eaten in moderation, of course.


Now go.  Eat and be happy.

Leave a Reply

