What the KALE?

Yep. This is it. I’m breaking my blog hibernation – for a SALAD DRESSING RECIPE.

Now listen, kids. Food in my house is a big deal. I like to eat. My husband likes to eat. Unfortunately, he and our spawn both love to eat a bit more healthily than I do – therefore, any condiment that enables me to enjoy health food more easily is a boon.

And let me tell you, I can eat gobs of kale with this dressing. Heaps. Loads. Seriously, I have never eaten so much kale in my life. I can now buy one of those trendy kale t-shirts to let everyone know how trendy my food-life is.

I was excited about my kale salad for lunch today. Who am I?

I’m sure it would be just as delicious on spinach or other leafy greens, not to mention chicken, pork…I could go on. It is yum.

I found the original recipe at Mountain Mama Cooks – you should go to there and make things. I’ve made her Kale Caesar Salad several times before, but last night I made a slight change in the dressing in order to decrease the fat and calories a bit more. My new version uses 1/4 cup greek yogurt + 1/4 cup mayo rather than 1/2 cup mayo. This saves 400 calories and 22g of fat, man! Didn’t notice the difference at all. Still delicious.


1 garlic clove (or more, to taste)
1/4 cup mayonnaise or vegan mayonnaise
1/4 cup greek yogurt
1 tsp dijon mustard
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tsp worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
3-4 tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

1-2 teaspoons of water to thin if necessary

Blend everything together – adding water last and until desired thickness.  Eat it with stuff.


This recipe makes a little over a cup of dressing. When considering the serving size of Hidden Valley ranch dressing, which is approximately 1 oz – this yields 8 servings with 111 calories and just under 12g of fat. Not to mention it is homemade and makes kale appetizing…

The chickpeas in her Kale Caesar Salad recipe are also delicious and another favorite in our house. When low on time, I like to saute them in a pan with some olive oil and a sprinkle of ranch seasoning.  Throw on your salad, serve with some rotisserie chicken, and you have a quick weeknight dinner.

So this is it. What I’ve been up to during these months of silence. I’ve just been shoving my face with kale and waiting for inspiration to hit… Who knew it was in my teeth?

One comment

  1. Vinny Grette · October 6, 2015

    Salad dressings rule! And I’ve discovered that a yogurt dressing is ideal with kale. Not surprised at all you would want to open with such a tasty recipe. I’ve got a cooked kale recipe up at the moment that is pretty good, too, iyi – https://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2015/10/06/learning-to-like-kale-a-hogbake-from-redwall-abbey/

Leave a Reply

